Tau Kappa Epsilon


1960-2000, 2002-2005, 2013-present

Local fraternity Phi Delta was recognized by Clarkson's Inter-fraternity Council on March 20, 1960. They purchased 74 Elm from Zeta Nu several months later. On April 28, 1963 the brothers became the Iota Kappa chapter of Tau Kappa Epsilon (Teke).

On August 14, 2000 the brothers lost recognition from their national, but were re-chartered on April 4, 2002. National allowed re-colonization after such a brief period (standard is five years) due to "strong alumni support and undergraduate dedication."

In 2005 the brothers of Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity "declared their independence and evolved" into Delta Tau Tau Fraternity. They still live at 74 Elm Street.

In March 2013 a new TKE colony was founded at Clarkson by 12 men, with national giving it the Iota Kappa name. Today some alumni of the original TKE identify with Delta Tau Tau, and some identify with the re-colonized TKE. In October 2014 the brothers signed a letter of intent to build an on-campus House at Clarkson.

12 founding fathers and their Alpha pledge class in March 2014
website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Colors: crimson lake cherry and pure silver gray

Symbol: equilateral triangle


In October 2014 the colony signed a letter on intent to build an on-campus House at Clarkson.
TKE brothers with Clarkson President Tony Collins (seated, right) and TKE alumni
ranging from class of '64-'79, including founding Prytanis (1963) Paul Cooper

No comments:

Post a Comment